800-89-SAVES (72837)

   

U Drive U Text U Pay

Posted by on in Our Blog
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 123
  • 0 Comments
  • Print

U Drive  -  U Text  -  U Pay

_____________________________________________________________________

IMG 8800   IMG 5826

_____________________________________________________________________

A new Massachusetts campaign has been launched April 8th, 2016 and running until April 29th.
Texting while driving had been outlawed in Massachusetts September 30th, 2010.  Ticketing texting violators had been somewhat on a back burner and assigned mainly towards teenagers until now.  Accidents have increased greatly and Massachusetts has deemed texting to be a cause they would like to address for ultimate safety for all citizens while on the road.

Offenses and Fines:
Adults:  The law stands that no driver should be on their phone texting, writing or sending a message or simply browsing the internet.  Should the driver be stopped at a traffic light, they are still held liable and fined just the same.
1st Offense:  $100 fine
2nd Offense:  $250 fine
3rd and subs offense:  $500 fine

Juveniles:  
1st offense: $100 fine, license suspended for 60 days, and the driver is required to complete a driver attitudinal course.  
2nd offense:  $250 fine and license suspended for180 days
3rd or subs offense:  $500 fine and one year license suspension

ie. Massachusetts teen, Aaron Deveau was found guitly in the vehicular homicide of Donald Bowley in 2011. He was sentenced two years to prison and will serve one. In addition, his license had been suspended for 15 years.
Please read A-Affordable blog posted in August 2012.

Photo compliments of The Boston Herald:
Screen Shot 2016 04 11 at 4.24.55 PM

 

Bus Drivers: Bus drivers can be fined $500 for using their cell phones while driving.  Bus drivers are not permitted to use their phones in either hands-free or handheld manors.  
ie. On an early Sunday May 18th, 2014 an MBTA bus crashed into a guardrail hospitalizing 7 people.

Photo compliments of CBS local.

Screen Shot 2016 04 11 at 4.21.26 PM


Please click to read the Distracted Driving Law.


Jeff Larason Director of The Safety Bureau.  Quote compliments of Boston.com
“It's a big problem, across the country in the past year, the crash rates have been increasing.  It’s very likely that the increasing levels of distraction on the vehicle are a big part of that.”

Statistics:
National Safety Council has stated that cell phone use while driving leads to 1.6 million crashes each year.
According to USA Today, 1 out of every 4 car accident in US is caused by texting while driving. 
According to Alcohol Problems and Solutions, texting is 6 times more likely to cause an accident than driving drunk.
The CDC reports that each day in the US over 8 people are killed and 1061 injured in crashes that are reported to involve a distracted driver.

According to DRIVING LAWS, published by NOLO, Massachusetts text messaging and cell phone laws are considered ‘primary’ laws.  A primary law means that an officer can pull you over for the offense without having to witness some other violation.

 

Stay on the safe side.

DO NOT WRITE, READ, OR SEND from your phones. 

It is dangerous and can place you, your loved ones, your neighbors & strangers at great risk.


  

Comments

  • No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, 28 May 2016