Anyone who leases or owns a motor vehicle in Massachusetts is required by the state to carry minimum amounts of liability insurance coverage. Massachusetts auto insurance laws include the following mandatory requirements for private passenger vehicles:
- There must be bodily injury to others coverage of at least $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident.
- PIP (personal injury protection) must be carried, paying up to $8,000 to you, passengers or anyone you allow to drive your vehicle.
- There must be coverage for bodily injury that results from an accident involving an uninsured auto of $20,000 minimum per person and $40,000 per accident.
- A minimum of $5,000 coverage must be carried for damage to a third party’s property.
Motorists may wish to consider purchasing additional protection beyond the minimum Massachusetts auto insurance requirements set by the state. Start by doing a little research on the different types of auto insurance coverage and think about the value of the assets you want to protect – if the value of those assets is high, it might make sense to purchase additional coverage.
Getting familiar with the types of coverage available in the auto insurance market will make it easier when you come to shop around for the best Massachusetts auto insurance rates. A local insurance agency will be pleased to help you make an informed decision on the best insurance product for your needs: an insurance agency representative can obtain quotes from a variety of insurers, assist with the evaluation of quotes, and arrange for your application for insurance coverage.